Bakewell Tart

A couple of weeks ago I accidentally locked one of my colleagues in the office and as a penance I said I’d bake him anything he wanted… hence the request for a Bakewell tart… not something I’ve ever made before but hey ho, might as well give it a try.

I’ll be honest, I NEVER make pastry, I always buy the pre made stuff, but for 2 reasons, this time I did.

1- it’s very tricky to get gluten free

2 – all the sweet shortcrust I could find had soooo many additional ingredients – most worryingly palm oil (but I’ll save that for another day)

Anyway, I used a lovely Mary Berry recipe (switching the normal plain flour out for Doves Farm gluten free variant) and surprisingly the pastry worked!

A little bit over generous on the frangipane so the icing couldn’t go all the way to the edge but other than that, I was pretty pleased with how it looked, and it got demolished in another 5 mins flat, so it obviously tasted good too!)

Leave a comment