Uncategorized

Mothership Sunday Roast Lamb

I am not ashamed to admit that I love Jamie Oliver – his recipes, his restaurants (although I did have a disappointing visit to my local Jamie’s Italian last week – but more on that another time) and his general approach to cooking. I have particularly enjoyed his recent TV programme Jamie’s Money Saving Meals and bought the recipe book Save with Jamie 

I’ve tried a couple of recipes, and love the way that a Sunday roast can feed me all week, so am going to share my favourite base and then the other meals that have followed.

The meat this week was Lamb. One of the things Jamie is trying to promote through this series is the use of cheaper, more unused cuts of meat, so for this we needed a 2.5kg shoulder of lamb – not something you can easily find at your local supermarket, but something easily available from a good butcher. We found, and utilised for the first time (despite having lived in St Albans for 3 years) A and C Meats  obtaining at 2.5kg fresh cut for just over £20.

The process of roasting it was pretty simple – the full recipe can be found here and the meat was delicious yielding so much lamb, that we had a second roast on Monday evening and leaving plenty for the ‘leftovers’ meal that I made later on in the week – Lamb Biryani to follow!

Leave a Reply

