Uncategorized

No Smoking Rules‏

I’ve just returned from a weekend in Austria and there are 2 food related opinions I’ve formed (and reinforced)!

1 – Austrian/German food is just a bit weird… That may sound like a wild sweeping generalisation (and to be fair it probably is) but where else would you be able to buy refried pig fat spread on toast and topped with onions?!

Unfortunately we sampled this delight through the mistake of not really understanding what we were asking for!!

On the other side of the equation we ate some hotdogs which were surprisingly nice and I am still fooling myself into believing they are healthy as they are boiled not fried… I’ll stay in my blissful ignorance thanks!!

The second point to comment on was what a wonderful difference having a smoking ban in British restaurants makes. Apparently you are still allowed to smoke in cafes, bars and restaurants in Austria.

Unfortunately this meant our choice of restaurant and cafe was somewhat restricted, which was a real shame as many of the places recommended in the guide book did not differentiate between smoking and non smoking areas/customers.

I’d forgotten just how unpleasant it is to eat in a room full of smoke! As a non smoker I am probably slightly more biased, however I do think it ruins a tasty meal, and  if answering genuinely I reckon even most smokers would agree!

Leave a Reply

